This is an advertisement
Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here

Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

dai

A lesson in marketing
« on: May 25, 2008, 04:36:11 pm »
I have been singing the praises of the Harris pole for the last 6 months, a few actually went out and bought one.
Groundhog posted his video, and what a response, 218 replies to date.
There is a lesson to be learned here, if a picture paints a thousand words, a video does it even better.
Those of you with their own web sites should think about this, a U Tube link could demonstrate to prospective customers what a good job you do. An edited before and after video taken on a dirty first clean would work wonders. What do you think?

Re: A lesson in marketing
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2008, 06:41:54 pm »
Groundhog added an element of interest because he got into such a big row bumping the harriss onto the slx thread and refusing to give ground.

He did make a good job of the video, but the thrust of what he was saying was that a £15 DIY job either beats or makes unecessary a £400 pole. That's where the interest lay.

In marketing terms then, we were more interested in Groundhog and whether he made an arris of himself or not.

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2008, 07:01:32 pm »
My opinion on this would be, people want there windows cleaned, watching a vid like groundhogs would put them off (I am not knocking the guy at all) but I said staright away that it looked like he was not cleaning it right (from my view point not a fact and he says they are fine and I tend to think hes being honest)

As for marketing on on a website it is very hard to see end result with wfp then there is the way you do it, do it too quick they will see and think it is not being done right and many more problems.