This is an advertisement
Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here

Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

Nick_Thompson

Greasy windows after the storms.
« on: February 19, 2014, 10:25:22 pm »
With a combination of a flocked brush for added scrubbing power and plenty of Virosol (spelling?) as an emulsifying agent, I'm still battling my way through my round as a consequence of all the gritty grease deposited on the glass by the storms.

95% of the windows in my area (Horley, Redhill, Reigate) have been effected to some degree, a fact that isn't overtly obvious from the outside, unless the sun shines on the glass at a particular angle.

Anyone else struggling?
Do quantum mechanics fix old transits?

And let us not forget, voyeurism is an occupational hazard that we simply must endure.

Dave Willis

Re: Greasy windows after the storms.
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2014, 10:31:25 pm »
Yep. Thousands of tiny greasy specks that don't come off. Also brush lines through a greasy film. Looks fine from the outside but shocking in low sunshine or artificial light especially from inside.

rosskesava

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2014, 10:35:18 pm »
On some places I've done recently where I live next to the coast, you cannot see through some windows.

Having used a variety of brushes and especially this winter with the exceptional amounts of salt as well as that smeary grease on windows, I've found that Gardiners brushes don't seem to have the scrubbing power.

I've also found that Gardiners brushes are leaving lines on the windows which is a new one on me.

In the main though I've ended up using an Unger N Lite brush which although a bit heavier than a Gardiners brush seems to do a better job and no line plus as it's wider, it's also a bit quicker.