This is an advertisement
Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here

Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

Heb Alpha

Van set up
« on: February 28, 2011, 11:55:24 am »
I've been using a fairly basic system for past 3 years, but am getting a new van in next couple of weeks and wondered if it's time to change the set up.

We have a 1000 litre IBC tank of purified water which sits in the garage and is pumped into the van each morning. In the cold weather we put a small aquarium heater into the tank to take the edge off the water.

Short wheel base transit van - has a 650 litre flat bed tank sitting over the back axle. 4 ratchet straps holding it down although i'm not convinced the tank would stay in place if it were to have a knock at say 50mph with a full tank.

I've got an independant 12v leasure battery which i charge every night which currently just sits on top of the wheel arch in the van and i connect to a shurflo pump with crocodile clips. From there the purified water goes through the DI tank and into 2 hoses onto 2 wfp's for the 2 operatives.

Any advice on how to make sure the tank is as secure as possible and any better ideas than having it sit over the back axle?

Hose reels - we just have a bungee holding the 2 of them onto the bottom of the bulkhead - any better ways to store them - we take them out and sit them on the ground for every job, as it's easier to reel them back in.

Battery - the new van i'm getting has a second battery and apparently there is a connection to it via a cigarette lighter in the rear of the van - any ideas as to how i can connect this up to the shurflo pump so that it charges as i drive. It would be good if i don't have to charge up the independant battery every night.