This is an advertisement
Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here

Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

simon knight

What's the form re climbing up scaffolding?
« on: August 03, 2010, 10:26:36 am »

Got a call from some woman who wants me to clean her windows while the scaffolding is there...I know the houses in her road and they are 3 floors so the scaffolding makes life much easier.

But am I allowed to do this?

Nathanael Jones

Re: What's the form re climbing up scaffolding?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2010, 04:26:11 pm »
climbing up the scaff itself is a big no-no from the H&S guys. I worked in construction for years & there was a huge fuss made over scaffolding safety.

Scaff should have ladder access points (its a legal requirement), and ladders should be secured to the scaff top & bottom,.. unless that is in place I wouldn't even go near it personally.

mci services

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2010, 04:30:24 pm »
I don't think thats what he meant nat, as long as the scaffold has the fixed ladders in place and all the other stuff like kick boards and railings fitted it should be ok,

simon knight

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2010, 05:21:28 pm »

I'm assuming that the scaffolding is all secured in the way it should be, I'm just wondering what the "legal" ramifications are...in that:

Do I need the scaffolding companies approval before I climb/use their property? Or can the householder give permission on the basis they are paying the hire charge so it's up to them who can use it?

NJWindowCleaning

« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2010, 11:24:23 pm »
Would you be insured to climb up scaffolding or would you need to up your insurance to go up scaffolding and I would imagine you need to do a risk ass for H&S etc??