Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

terrymaloy

2 Hours to Fit a Water Pump ???
« on: May 14, 2009, 12:20:12 pm »
Just got my CX portable back from Extracta.
The water pump packed up on me yesterday afternoon.
The pump itself cost £140 plus £20 vat...

I then looked at the labour charge...just under 2 hours ! At £40 per hour, you can add another £80 onto the bill.
I did query it, and was told that electrical checks also had to be done on the machine.

I'm no expert, but I'm sure the above could have been done in half that time ?
Has anyone ever fitted pumps / vacs themselves...it cant be that difficult, can it ?

TM

M.Acorn

Re: 2 Hours to Fit a Water Pump ???
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 12:28:19 pm »
Do all my maintenance,fitting pumps vacs etc ! not sure about your machine,as i have a Prochem,which is very sraight forward,can change either in mins  ;D but thats only because i have done them several times now.Can be a pig to get the pump out if the captive nuts spin,had to chisel my last pump out because of that  >:(.
You can claim it back against your tax though
What goes around comes around

Simon@arenaclean

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2009, 12:32:46 pm »
I have an Alltec, 30 mins I reckon. Did they do a pat test? They might have a minimum of 2hrs charge?

Len Gribble

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2009, 07:04:50 pm »
One has to remember they don’t have toolbox beside them so they have to walk the length of the workshop and back it your money ;D and there time, the other week it took me one hour to install a TM blazer.

Len
Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other. (Sidcup Kent)

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2009, 10:16:10 pm »