Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

dreamweaver

starting up in Ireland
« on: August 26, 2008, 06:14:53 pm »
Hi guys/girls, cant believe my luck in finding a website like this.
I am new to carpet cleaning and have rented the rug doctor from the usual homebase and used it on friends and famileies carpet for experience and found it just OK.
I am In Dublin and looking to do this fulltime now as I have been working for myself for years in the consrtuction area and to say the least were having a big downturn at the moment.
I am on a budget and I know I can buy the rug doctor for 480 sterling delivered to my door.
The problem I would have though is as people can rent these out why would they want someone to use the same machine and charge them for it.
If for example I was on the same budget lets say  £500 what could I buy for this money taht would be better than the rug doctor and that would look professional , manybe I am asking to much for the money but i have to start somewhere.
Would the Puzzi 200 be a better option for me on start up.
Lastly can I get reccomondations for chemicals that are used
I was also thinking along the lines of bissel, but are these for more domestic jobs, I dont wanna turn up with a smaller machine than the customers hoover, any advise for a newbie here, cheers inadvance of any help

Steve Barnett (Carpet Care Plus)

Re: starting up in Ireland
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2008, 06:51:32 pm »
Hi

If you are considering going into this business then you should certainly steer clear of the rug doctor market. These are not considered professional machines and will not do the job to the standard that a client would expect.

A £500 budget wont stretch that far unless you have some luck on e-bay.