Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

davids3511

Struggling with wooden frames
« on: August 17, 2007, 12:28:09 pm »
Hi All

I am pretty new to window cleaning and WFP and still on the learning curve. Generally I am ok with PVC frames and just scrub and rinse well. Get the odd bit of spotting but it is getting less and less.

My problem is with wood windows. After I have cleaned the glass and rinsed well, dirt seems to be smeared on the top of the pane, seems to be coming from the top frame. I do try to keep both the brush and the jet away from the frame but must be hitting them somewhere. Did one this morning and wasn't at all happy with it. Admittedly it was a first clean but I had to go over them again, I couldn't leave them in the state they were.

Any hints or techniques for wooden frames?

Thanks

David

AJ

Re: Struggling with wooden frames
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2007, 12:45:00 pm »
for a first clean especially on wooden frames, expect to do them at least twice before they come up good. do them, let them dry (this gives time for some of the muck to run out) then do them again. trial and error i'm afraid.

Helen

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2007, 12:50:56 pm »
David, are the frames well maintained or not. If they are "flaky" you will probably get this most times you clean. Sometimes even with well maintained frames the same can happen, it depends ojn what they have been or not treated with.Tips would be to turn your flow pressure right down when doing these, keep away from the frames, this does take practise to do that and rinse rinse rinse. You may have to go back and check when they have dried off. It might just turn out that WFP is not the best method/alternative for these an you will have to use another method :)

jimnjon