Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

mlscontractcleaner

Replacing a vacuum
« on: March 06, 2009, 08:23:35 pm »
Hi all.

I have a Woodbridge Powerplus hot water extraction machine and for the five or so years I've had it nothing has gone wrong. That all changed this week when one of the vacuums packed in and whenever I switch on the heater it blows the fuses in the property's electrics  ??? ??? ???

Now, I can work the heater's problems out shortly but I'd like some advice on fitting the new vacuum.

Is it an easy enough job for someone with NO electrical experience or is it best left to an expert??

Be honest with me now lads, I'm not an electrician but I can wire a plug  ;), do I have a go myself or stop being a tight wad and send it for repair???
Come and talk dirty to us!!!

Joe H

Re: Replacing a vacuum
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2009, 09:12:26 pm »
I think what you need to do is look into the machine and try to see what you woul d have to do to remove  the vac motor - because fitting one will be the reverse.
Just look at the fittings and the electrical connections - does it look easy?
Perhaps put a photo on here for the guys to peer at.

Bob Robertson

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2009, 09:40:43 pm »
Hope this makes sense

If you do it yourself,look at the position of the vac and the wires, then put different coloured tape on each wire that will match the new vac , put two bits of tape on each of the vac wires you want to remove and then cut between them this way you will have a reference as to which wire connects to your new vac. Always leave enough length on the machine, cut nearer the vac that's to be removed.

Bob

markpowell

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2009, 09:56:14 pm »