Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

derek west

dry cleaners
« on: July 31, 2008, 07:22:22 pm »
just had a phone call from a dry cleaners, they have 3 shops and want a cc to recommend to there clients, does anyone get work like this and is it a lot or just trickles, also is there a catch, ie will she want me to use her for curtains and stuff, or commision, i'm going up to see her monday so any interesting advice would be grateful as ive never been approached in this way and being new, any knowledge is good knowledge.
derek

markpowell

Re: dry cleaners
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2008, 07:30:30 pm »
Derek,
I have been cleaning rugs for my local dry cleaner for the past 2 years, i give them 10% for each one they pass my way. I paid for the advertising board in the shop i get around 6 rugs a month.
Cant see them passing curtains you way as they can clean them, themselves.
mark

Jim_77

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2008, 07:30:40 pm »
I'd say it would be a case of taking the rough with the smooth.

They're likely to push problems your way.

If you think about it, this business owner hasn't sat bolt upright in bed one night and thought "How can I show selfless good will and make someone else's business more profitable?"

Their motives will be entirely self-centred, but there may still be a chance to profit from it.

If you only ever listen to one bit of advice, listen to this bit:  Don't get pulled into the trap of doing cheap favours.

Shaun_Ashmore

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2008, 07:33:05 pm »
We have a dry cleaners shop and I get loads of work from it but the staff are told to push customers cards.

I think I'd be asking

1. how did they get hold of my number
2. why me ( there are 100's of cc's) a bit negative but watch for the scam
3. what's in it for them