Interested In Advertising? | Contact Us Here
Warning!

Welcome to Clean It Up; the UK`s largest cleaning forum with over 34,000 members

Please login or register to post and reply to topics.      

Forgot your password? Click here

garybristow

0800 good? bad?
« on: December 29, 2011, 08:35:36 pm »
Im sure this as come up before,companies offering 0300 numbers and 0800.
can someone give me the basics of the system
thanks
happy new year

Colin Day

Re: 0800 good? bad?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 08:36:54 pm »
I have it, it costs pennies to have... My Dad rings more often than he used to...The tight git.... ;D

Linds Russell

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2011, 10:23:29 pm »
I've had an 0800 number since I started trading and it costs me an average of £30 a month (it always terminates on my mobile).

I know there are probably cheaper services available but this company give great service and can divert to another mobile at short notice.
Linds

davep

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2011, 10:30:35 pm »
Other positive is if you move house and can't keep landline number custy with 0800 number can still get you.

Jim_77

« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2011, 11:47:53 pm »
Personally, I wouldn't dream of it.

Firstly, more and more calls come from mobiles which means they can cost quite a bit, certainly a mental barrier at least for many people.

Who actually calls a number because it is free, rather than the prospect of 30 or maybe 50 pence to make an enquiry?  Not my type of customer for sure!

The most common use of a phone number, obviously, is to advertise locally.  People naturally browse for a company local to them.  Therefore customers look at the area codes because they tell you roughly where a company is located.